FS employees recognized with Secretary Honor Awards

Photo of some Forest Service awardees in Chief's Office.
After the ceremony, some awardees posed with Chief Christiansen in her office. From left to right: Maureen Bookwalter, Lynn Oliver, Chief Christiansen, Samuel A. Cushman and Carlos Rodriguez. USDA Forest Service photo by Tanya Flores.

WASHINGTON, DC—Last Tuesday, March 12, Secretary Perdue presented awards to USDA employees, including several from the Forest Service. The Honor Awards align with the USDA strategic goals. In addition, this year, there was a special Hurricane Response Award.

Please congratulate the honorees:

Strategic Goal 5, Strengthen the Stewardship of Private Lands Through Technology and Research:

Center for Landscape Science

Natural Resources and Environment

For delivering cross-agency, interdisciplinary science to strengthen the stewardship of private lands through technology and research

Samuel A. Cushman

Forest Service, Flagstaff, Arizona

Strategic Goal 6, Ensure Productive and Sustainable Use of Our National Forest System Lands:

Good Neighbor Authority Team

Natural Resources and Environment

For outstanding execution of the Good Neighbor Authority with the state of Idaho in improving forest conditions on National Forest System lands

Maureen Bookwalter

Forest Service, Missoula, Montana

Scott Godfrey

Forest Service, Kamiah, Idaho

Matt Staudacher

Forest Service, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Steve Kimball

Forest Service, McCall, Idaho

Lynn Oliver

Forest Service, Boise, Idaho

Secretary’s Award for Hurricane Relief

For extraordinary response to Hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria in Texas, Florida, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands

Carlos Rodriguez

Forest Service, San Juan, Puerto Rico

If you missed it, you can watch the ceremony on YouTube.