Kari Vanderheuel wins Inspiring Women award

Forest Supervisor Cid Morgan (right) presented the Inspiring Women Award to Kari Vanderheuel. USDA Forest Service photo.

MICHIGAN – Hiawatha National Forest employee Kari Vanderheuel was recently awarded the Region 9 Inspiring Women Award for Outstanding Outreach, Volunteerism and Partnerships. Kari was recognized for her excellence in utilizing volunteers and partnerships to connect communities with the Forest Service while accomplishing priority mission-related work.

When presenting the award at a recent leadership team meeting, Forest Supervisor Cid Morgan expressed appreciation for the variety of partnerships in which Kari and her staff engage. They include volunteer coordination at Point Iroquois Lighthouse, Mackinac County Water Safety Team, Foley Creek Day Use Area, Hiawatha Shore to Shore Chapter of North Country Trail Club, Les Cheneaux Watershed Council, Round Island Lighthouse Preservation Society, Chippewa County Sportsmen’s Off-Road Vehicle Association and Hiawatha East Zone Snowmobile Clubs, just to name a few.

The Inspiring Women’s Awards program began as a grassroots effort to honor the contributions and commitment of outstanding women in the Forest Service whose work and service inspire women and others in the workplace or community. This year’s Inspiring Women Award Ceremony recognized twenty-two women representing employees from Region 6, Region 9, Region 10, Pacific Northwest Research Station, Northern Research Station, Forest Product Laboratory Eastern Region and Northeastern Area State and Private Forestry. 2018 Eastern Region Winners included:

Outstanding Outreach/Partnership/Volunteerism:

  • Kari Vanderheuel-Partnership Coordinator, St. Ignace Ranger District, Hiawatha National Forest, Eastern Region
  • Michelle Pearion-Botanist, Midewin National Tallgrass Prairie, Eastern Region
  • Dawn Meier-Volunteer & Service Program Coordinator, Regional Office, Eastern Region

Outstanding Administrative Achievement:

  • Martelle Jossart-Administrative Support Assistant, Regional Office, Eastern Region

Outstanding Leadership Achievement:

  • Jennifer Durkin-Horticulturist, Midewin National Tallgrass Prairie, Eastern Region
  • Zaneta Hammond-Grants & Agreement Specialist, Northeastern Area State & Private Forestry