SRS and Eastern AQM team receive recognition

Photo: Group shot of SRS AQM team
SRS AQM team (left to right) - Darlene Tolman, Keith Friot, Mike Walker, Takele Woldu, Joyce Gorgas. (Not pictured: Kim Parks, Cynthia Roberts, Mark Miller, Kelly Updegraff, Archie Williams, Steven Butler, and Reid Carroll). Forest Service photo.

Southern Research Station acquisition management team received USDA recognition for outstanding accomplishments on behalf of the small business community for their continual efforts in exceeding Forest Service small business acquisition goals. Takele Woldu accepted the award on behalf of the team during an award ceremony on June 21 in Washington D.C.  They were one of only two regions or stations FS wide to meet all Forest Service SB goals. 

SRS’s acquisition team has continually exceeded at least two of the goals by 10% each year, while ensuring all goals are met. These established goals are for awarding contracts to small disadvantage mandated designated small businesses.

The small business community includes Service Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business, 8(a) Small Businesses, Woman Owned Small Business, Historically Underutilized Business (Hub Zone), and Small Disadvantaged Businesses.

Through market research, outreach, and partnerships, the station is committed to including small and disadvantaged business utilization as part of the government contracts process.