Land & Resources Management

Forest Planning

Forest Service and partners in the Skokmish watershed

Olympic National Forest planning documents guide all forest management actions. Plans are focused at a broad scale: regional, forest-wide, or landscape (watershed) level.

Current Projects

Big snags are part of the features of mature old-growth forests.

Schedule of Proposed Actions (SOPA) and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) projects at Olympic National Forest documentation is available. *Sign up for project updates.

Resource Management

Salmon and other aquatic wildlife depend on healthy watersheds.

We manage resources, with our partners, including: watershed restoration, habitat and forest health. Timber sale information is also available.

Geospatial Data

geospatial information graphic

Information about available GIS (Geographic Information System) data is available.                                                    

 

Features

Travel Analysis

Forest Road 30 in Forks, Washington area

We conducted an analysis to identify the minimum road system needed on the Forest. Learn more.


Climate Change

Watershed area from above.“Land management has been traditionally based on the precept that future environmental conditions will mirror past conditions. Climate change is turning this notion on its head. We can no longer assume that precipitation will fall in the same amounts and during the same time of year as in the past." - Case Studies - Managing for a Changing Climate on the Olympic National Forest.

Quick Links

Key Contacts

 

Natural Resources Staff Officer

Tim Davis
(360) 956-2430
timothy.e.davis@usda.gov                     

Fish & Watershed

Dana Butler
(360) 956-2280
dana.butler2@usda.gov

Wildlife, Ecology, Botany, & Invasive Plants

Susan Piper
(360) 956-2435
susan.piper@usda.gov

Forest Health/Timber

Kevin Senderak
(360) 956-2272
kevin.senderak@usda.gov

Engineering

Bill Shelmerdine
(360) 956-2282
bill.shelmerdine@usda.gov

Fire

Micah Johnson
(360) 765-2221
micah.d.johnson@usda.gov

NEPA/Planning/FOIA Request

Deborah Kill - NEPA Coordinator
(360) 956-2375
deborah.kill@usda.gov

Kimberly Crider – NEPA Planner
(360) 956-2376
kimberly.crider@usda.gov 



https://www.fs.usda.gov/land/olympic/landmanagement