Advisory Committees

Resource Advisory Committee (RAC) Information

There are two resource advisory committees (RACs) serving in the Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest.

The Tri County RAC covers Powell, Granite, and Deer Lodge counties and includes lands on the Beaverhead-Deerlodge, Lolo, Helena, and Flathead National Forests. The Tri County RAC is scheduled to meet virtually Wednesday, March 10th, 2021 from 9:00 AM MST to 4:00 PM MST. To join on your computer or mobile app Click Here or call in (audio only) +1 636-352-2946 and enter Conference ID: 123 641 869#.


Click on the following links to view the recorded Tri County RAC meetings from January 12th, 2021.

Final Tri Country SRS RAC Recommended Project Funding 2020

The Southwest Montana RAC covers Madison, Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Silverbow counties and includes lands on the Beaverhead-Deerlodge, Helena, and Gallatin National Forests. The Southwest Montana RAC met Feb. 14, 2020, at the Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest Supervisor's Office in Dillon.

Final Southwest Montana SRS RAC Recommended Project Funding 2020

Background Information

What is the purpose of a Resource Advisory Committee?

Resource Advisory Committees were established under the Reauthorization of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000. The RAC’s recommend how to allocate a portion of federal funds counties receive under the Act. The Act directs that funds be spent on projects such as road, trail and infrastructure maintenance or obliteration, improvements in soil and forest ecosystem health, restoration and improvements of wildlife and fish habitat, control of weeds, and reestablishment of native animals and plants. Projects must benefit resources on National Forest lands and meet federal environmental laws. In the past five years, the RACs have approved more than $3.5 million in funding for projects that benefit National Forest system lands.

If you are interested in serving on the Southwest Montana or Tri County RAC, please complete and submit an application and cover sheet to:

Jeanne Dawson
Attn: Southwest Montana or Tri County RAC
Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest
420 Barrett Street
Dillon, MT 59725
(406) 683-3987

Additional information about the RAC and Secure Rural Schools can be found at


2021 RAC Proposal Application

The Forest Service is now accepting new project proposals for the Resource Advisory Committees (RACs) established for the Southwest Montana RAC and the Tri-County RAC which includes the counties of Powell, Granite, and Deerlodge, Beaverhead, Jeferson, Madison and Silver Bow. Project proposals must establish a benefit to National Forest lands and ecosystems and meet established criteria.

2021 RAC Project Proposal Application


Tri County January Meeting Recording

Part one of the Tri County RAC meeting that took place on January 14th, 2021.