There are six (6) proclaimed National Forests within the state for your use and enjoyment!

Our role is to manage the forests for multiple use, including:

  • recreation,
  • timber,
  • wildlife and fish,
  • water and soil,
  • wilderness and range,
  • and to protect and conserve the natural resources on public lands.

Information on a specific National Forest/District can be found by clicking on Districts. You may also request, from any Ranger District office, a National Forests in MS brochure which contains a map and information on recreation areas and facilities.

The six National Forests and seven (7) Ranger Districts are:

  1. Bienville Ranger District – (Bienville National Forest, Forest, MS)
  2. De Soto Ranger District – (De Soto National Forest, Wiggins, MS)
  3. Chickasawhay Ranger District - (De Soto National Forest, Laurel, MS)
  4. Homochitto Ranger District – (Homochitto National Forest, Meadville, MS)
  5. Delta Ranger District – (Delta National Forest, Rolling Fork, MS)
  6. Holly Springs Ranger District – (Holly Springs National Forest, Oxford, MS)
  7. Tombigbee Ranger District – (Tombigbee National Forest, Ackerman, MS)

 National Forests in Mississippi District Map