Advisory Committees

Secure Rural Schools

Secure Rural Schools Act resource advisory committees are governed by the Act and by the committee charters. In October 2009, the Secretary of Agriculture approved nine charters, one for each of the various committees in the nine Forest Service Regions. These may be accessed via links on the Forest Service Regions page.

The Secure Rural Schools Act authorizes the use of Resource Advisory Committee (RACs) as a mechanism for local community collaboration with federal land managers in recommending Title II projects on federal lands or that will benefit resources on federal lands. RACs established by the original SRS Act and in existence before September 29, 2006, have been reauthorized by the Secretary of Agriculture to a new four-year term. To ensure that each national forest has access to a resource advisory committee the Secretary may establish RACs for part of, or 1 or more national forests. [Act section 205]


Resource Advisory Committees

The National Forests in Mississippi has four resource advisory committees:

Delta Bienville Resource Advisory Committee advising the Delta and Bienville National Forests in Jasper, Scott, Sharkey and Smith Counties,

DeSoto Resource Advisory Committee advising the DeSoto National Forest in Forrest, Greene, Harrison, Jones, Perry, Stone and Wayne Counties,

Holly Springs-Tombigbee Resource Advisory Committee advising the Holly Springs and Tombigbee National Forests in Benton, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Winston and Yalobusha Counties,

Southwest Mississippi Resource Advisory Committee advising the Homochitto National Forest in Adams, Amite, Copiah, Franklin, Jefferson and Wilkinson Counties.