Learning Center


Welcome to the Pacific Northwest Region Learning Center!


National forests are the ultimate "outdoor classroom," with natural processes and human activities interacting in all sorts of interesting ways. There are many diverse areas to explore in the Pacific Northwest. The Pacific NW Region (Region 6) of the US Forest Service contains 17 National Forests, a National Scenic Area, a National Grassland, and two National Volcanic Monuments, all within the States of Oregon and Washington.  In this section of the web site, you can learn more about local history, find out how best to behave in the outdoors, and find resources for your own teaching or classroom.

Test Link for Web


Conservation Education


The Conservation Education program (CE) helps people of all ages understand and appreciate our country's natural resources -- and learn how to conserve those resources for future generations. Through structured educational experiences and activities targeted to varying age groups and populations, conservation education enables people to realize how natural resources and ecosystems affect each other and how resources can be used wisely. Visit the Forest Service Conservation Education website to learn more!


Mount St Helens Teacher's Corner

Mount St Helens 30 years after the 1980 eruption

Each year, over 10,000 students travel to Mount St. Helens to see the dramatic effects of the 1980 volcanic eruption, and observe how plants and animals have responded.