News Release

Johanns Appoints New Members to National Urban and Community Forestry Advisory Council

July 5, 2006 -

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns today announced the selection of six members to USDA's National Urban and Community Forestry Advisory Council (NUCFAC). There are four new members and two are reappointed. Their terms begin immediately.

The four new members appointed to the 15-member council are Carl Nordstrom, executive director, New Jersey Nursery & Landscape Association, Lawrenceville, N. J.; Dan Lambe, vice president, programs, National Arbor Day Foundation, Lincoln, Neb.; Stephen Shurtz, landscape and forestry manager, City of Baton Rouge, La.; and James Kielbaso, professor emeritus, urban forestry, Okemos, Mich.

Two members have been reappointed to serve a second term: Brenda M. Allen, associate professor and extension specialist, urban forestry, Auburn University, Tuskegee, Ala.; and Joseph Wilson, executive director, Greening Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisc. Mr. Wilson was re-appointed the Chair of NUCFAC.

Established under the Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act of 1978, the council advises the Secretary on the care and management of trees, forests and related natural resources in urban and community settings throughout the nation. In addition, the council makes recommendations to the USDA Forest Service's Urban and Community Forestry Program on competitive cost-share grants that advance the science and practice of urban forestry. Members of the Council serve without compensation and dedicate approximately 100 hours each year.

For more information on NUCFAC, visit