Special Places




Bids are being solicited for the operation of the Trout Lake Commercial Portage on the Superior National Forest. It is located on the LaCroix Ranger District: Trout Lake Portage from Lake Vermilion to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness.


Applicants can apply to operate the Trout Lake Commercial Portage offered in the prospectus.The successful bidder will be responsible for operating and maintaining a commercial portage service on the Trout Lake Portage in accordance with the terms of a special use permit issued by the Forest Service.  In consideration for the permit the permittee shall pay to the Forest Service a flat fee and percentage of gross receipts derived from the portage operations.


A prospectus, sample permit and bid forms are available at the following link: www.fs.usda.gov/superior. Hard copies will be provided upon request in person at the LaCroix Ranger District 320 North Hwy 53 Cook, MN 55723 or by mail.


Sealed bids will be received by the LaCroix District Ranger until 4:30 PM CST on Friday, March 6, 2015.


The Forest Service reserves the right to reject any and all bids.  If you have any questions please contact Tim Engrav at tengrav@fs.fed.us or (218) 666-0025. 


Trout Lake Commercial Portage Prospectus 

Appendix 1 Trout Lake Portage Vicinity Map

Appendix 2- Trout Inventory of Gov Property

Appendix 3- Applicable Forest Orders

Appendix 4- BWCAW Occupancy and Use Forest Order R909-05-02

Appendix 5 - Trout Sample Use Report

Appendix 6 - Trout Standard Performance Evaluation Form

Appendix 7 - Trout Sample Operating Outline

Appendix 8 - FS-2700-4h Special Use Permit for Concessions

Appendix 9 - Trout Granger-Thye Fee Offset Agreement

Appendix 10 - Trout Potential Government M&R Projects

Appendix 11 - Trout GT Fee Offset Claim Certification

Appendix 12- Trout Indirect Cost Reimbursement Letter

Appendix 13 - Trout Sample Collection Agreement for GT Fee Offset Work

Appendix 14 - Trout Business Plan Requirements and Sample

Appendix 15 - Trout Financial Statement

Appendix 16 - Trout Request for Verification

Highlighted Areas

Superior National Forest Scenic Byway

The Superior National Forest Scenic Byway, designated as Forest Highway 11, runs from the taconite town of Silver Bay to the logging town of Aurora.  There are long stretches of unbroken forest along this 54 mile road, giving the driver a good sense of being away from it all.  Several trails and campgrounds are on or near the route for perfect resting areas.

For a brochure describing the Byway in detail, click here.

A map of the Superior NF Scenic Byway

To visit the national Scenic Byways webpage for more information, click here.