The Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest is located in the south western part of Montana.
Where is this Forest?


Advisory Committees

Resource Advisory Commitee (RAC) Information

A Secure Rural Schools Resource Advisory Committee (RAC) provides recommendations to the Forest Service on the development and implementation of special projects on federal lands as authorized under the Secure Rural Schools Act and Community Self-Determination Act in Public Law 110-343. Title II funds are authorized for projects that protect, restore, and enhance fish and wildlife habitat; improve the maintenance of existing Forest Service infrastructure; protect and enhance ecosystems on the national forests; and restore and improve land health and water quality. The RACs review and recommend projects and funding to the Forest Supervisor.

There are two resource advisory committees (RACs) serving in the Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest. The Southwest Montana RAC covers Madison, Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Silver Bow counties and includes lands in the Beaverhead-Deerlodge, Helena, and Gallatin National Forests. The Tri County RAC covers Powell, Granite, and Deer Lodge counties and includes lands in the Beaverhead-Deerlodge, Lolo, Helena, and Flathead National Forests.


The RACs are now accepting project proposals. To propose a project for the RAC to consider, complete and submit a Project Proposal Form. The instructions and form are below.

To serve on the Southwest Montana or Tri County RAC, complete and submit an application and interest form by May 14th to:

Patty Bates
Attn: Southwest Montana RAC
Forest Service
420 Barrett Street
Dillon, MT 59725

Additional information about the RAC and Secure Rural Schools can be found at