The Bitterroot National Forest is located in western Montana.
Where is this Forest?


Maps & Publications

National Forest Maps

Maps of the Bitterroot National ForestThe Bitterroot National Forest offers a set of Visitor and Travel Plan maps, one for the north half of the Forest (includes the Stevensville and Darby Ranger Districts) and one for the south half (includes the Sula and West Fork Ranger Districts).  These maps are printed with topographic lines at a scale of 1" to a mile and combine general forest and travel opportunity information such as roads, trails, trailheads, streams, rivers, lakes, and major peaks, as well as recreation facilities such as campgrounds, fishing access sites, cabin rentals, and picnic areas.  Additionally the Bitterroot National Forest includes parts of three designated wilderness areas each with their own separate map(s):  the Anaconda Pintler Wilderness, the Selway Bitterroot Wilderness, and the Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness.  

Obtaining Forest Maps

Bitterroot National Forest maps may be purchased at any of our local forest office's.  Additionally these maps, as well as other National Forest, Grassland, and Wilderness maps, are available for purchase from the National Forest Store.


The USGS's most familiar product is the 1:24,000-scale Topographic Quadrangle Map. This is the primary scale of data produced with the greatest detail for an area. USGS Topo Quad Maps are 22"x27".  Each Ranger District on the Forest carries the USGS topographical maps located on their respective districts.  They are also available for purchase from the USGS Store.



Forest Publications


Regional Publications


Other Publications