The Gallatin National Forest is located in the south central part of Montana.
Where is this Forest?


Maps & Publications

Custer Gallatin Maps Available Electronically

National Forest Maps and Motor Vehicle Use Maps (MVUM's) are available on mobile devices! 

Get the Avenza app directly in your iOS or Android App Store, then search for and purchase or download free maps of your choice.  (Motor Vehicle Use Maps included!)

Image of Mobile Devices and Avenza PDF logo

Online:  To purchase maps online visit the National Forest Store, maps from forests across the nation and speciality maps can be purchased. 

Download MVUM Maps Online Below or get the Avenze App for your mobile Device

At District:  To purchase a map in person, visit your local ranger district office of the respective Forest/district.

The Custer Gallatin National Forest has six maps available for purchase to cover 7 districts; a specific map is also available to the Absaroka Beartooth Wilderness.

Ashland Ranger District– covers far south-eastern Montana surrounding Ashland, MT Images of all maps sold for the Custer Gallatin

Beartooth Ranger District(covers National Forest surrounding Red Lodge, MT and the Pryor Mountain unit, along with part of the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness)

Gallatin West– covering the west side of the forest including portions of the Bozeman Ranger District and Hebgen Lake Ranger District

Gallatin North– covering the Bridger and Crazy Mountain Ranges (Bozeman and Yellowstone Ranger Districts respectively)

Gallatin Central– spans the Yellowstone, Gardiner and portions of the Beartooth Ranger District, across much of the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness

Sioux Ranger District(far south-eastern Montana and northwestern South Dakota) – covering all eight land units of the Sioux Ranger District.

Over-Snow Winter Motor Vehicle Use Maps (OSMVUM)

Hyalite Canyon Over Snow Winter Recreation Map

Over Snow Winter Motor Vehicle Use Map:  Front; Back

Motor Vehicle Use Maps (MVUM)

Travel maps are available for download online or hardcopies in person at your respective local district including:

Absaroka-Beartooth (West)

Absaroka-Beartooth (East)


Beartooth (North)

Beartooth (South)

Beartooth (Pryors) Tables for Pryor Unit


Crazy Mountains

Gallatin Range

Hebgan and North Madison Ranges

Sioux - Montana Units

Sioux - South Dakota Units

Hiking Trail and Area Maps

Beartooth Ranger District Maps (Beartooth and Pryor Mountains)