Advisory Committees

Resource Advisory Committee logo

The Daniel Boone Resource Advisory Committee operates under authority of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000. Congress established the Act to continue sharing federal revenue payments to states that include national forest lands.

The Daniel Boone RAC works in collaboration with natural resource managers, community officials, and others to help make project decisions that benefit national forest lands and local communities. These projects are funded primarily under Title II, where county governments may allocate a portion of the state payment to fund such projects.   

The Kentucky counties that currently allocate funds to Title II are Laurel, Leslie, McCreary and Rockcastle.

Committee Member Outreach – The Daniel Boone National Forest is currently seeking to appoint eight new members to fulfill a 15-member requirement for federal advisory committees.

The primary duties of committee members are to review proposed projects, determine funding, and then provide recommendations to the Forest Supervisor. The committee typically meets in-person once or twice a year to review project proposals.

The Daniel Boone RAC members must reside in Kentucky, and for travel purposes, members should reside in the national forest vicinity.

RACs must consist of 15 members in the following three categories:

Category A

  • organized labor or non-timber forest product harvester groups

  • developed outdoor recreation, off-highway vehicle users, or commercial recreation activities

  • energy and mineral development, or commercial or recreational fishing groups

  • commercial timber industry

  • federal grazing permit or other land use permit holders or representative of non-industrial private forest land owners within the area for which the committee is organized

    Category B

  • nationally recognized environmental organizations

  • regionally or locally recognized environmental organizations

  • dispersed recreational activities

  • archaeology and history

  • nationally or regionally recognized wild horse and burro interest, wildlife or hunting organizations, or watershed associations

    Category C

  • hold state-elected office

  • hold county or local-elected office

  • American Indian tribes within or adjacent to the area for which the committee is organized

  • area school officials or teachers

  • affected public-at-large

    Anyone interested in becoming a member of the Daniel Boone Resource Advisory Committee must complete the AD-755 form and Membership Interest form.

    Form hardcopies may be sent to the attention of Kimberly Bonaccorso at Daniel Boone National Forest, Supervisor’s Office, 1700 Bypass Road, Winchester, KY 40391. Electronic copies may be sent to These forms must be received no later than May 22, 2019.

    For more information about becoming a RAC member, contact Tim Reed, Designated Federal Official, at 606-376-5323, or Kimberly Bonaccorso, RAC Coordinator, at 859-745-3107, More information can also be found at