About the Region

Where is the Intermountain Region

The Intermountain Region of the Forest Service encompasses nearly 34-million acres of National Forest System land. The Intermountain Regional Office in Ogden, Utah provides administrative oversight and support to 12 National Forests which are located in Utah, Nevada, western Wyoming, southern and central Idaho, as well as one National Grassland in Idaho and the Rocky Mountain Research Station in Colorado. The National Forest Supervisor's Offices are the headquarters for forest activities and provide oversight and support to the Ranger District offices within the forest boundaries. Ranger Districts are the units that directly manage the national forests and grasslands. Types of management that occur on each district vary significantly. Some districts manage ski areas, wilderness areas, wild and scenic rivers, and resource management programs and extensive recreational uses.

Four major geographic provinces come together to form the Intermountain West. They include the Great Basin, Colorado Plateau, Middle Rocky Mountains and the Northern Rocky Mountains. These provinces are the reason for the tremendous diversity of landscapes and ecosystems within the Intermountain Region.

Meet the Leadership of the Intermountain Region

Photo of Nora Rasure.Regional Forester

Nora Rasure is the Regional Forester for the Intermountain Region, headquartered in Ogden, Utah. The Intermountain Region includes twelve National Forests and one National Grassland, covering 34 million acres across all or part of six states, including Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Wyoming, California, and Colorado.

Nora has served in several regional positions including Acting Regional Forester in the Eastern Region, Deputy Regional Forester for the Pacific Northwest Region and Acting Deputy Regional Forester in the Rocky Mountain Region.

She served in the Forest Service’s National Headquarters in Washington, D.C. for two years as the Deputy Director for Recreation, Heritage and Volunteer Resources; and the Acting Director of Forest Management.

Nora has worked as a line officer on several national forests including, Forest Supervisor on the Coconino National Forest in Flagstaff, Arizona, and on the Colville National Forest in Colville, Washington. She was the Deputy Forest Supervisor on the Coronado National Forest in Tucson, Arizona. Nora was a District Ranger on the West Fork Ranger District, Bitterroot National Forest in Montana.

Nora began her career as a Youth Conservation Corps crew leader on the Toiyabe National Forest and subsequently worked in several positions in fire, lands and recreation on the Toiyabe National Forest in Carson City and Las Vegas, Nevada.

Nora received her Bachelor of Science degree in Forest Management from the University of Illinois, in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois.

Former Regional Forester's of the Intermountain Region

Photo of a man from the shoulders up wearing a black and white plaid shirt.Deputy Regional Forester

David Rosenkrance came to the Intermountain Region from the Bureau of Reclamation’s Dakotas where he was an Area Manager. He oversaw all aspects of the management, development, and protection of water and related resources in the Dakotas.

He began his federal career with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) as a Civil Engineer in Coos Bay, Oregon in 1991. He gained experience while serving in this position with duty stations in Vale, Oregon and Boise, Idaho and as a Supervisory Civil Engineer in Salmon, Idaho.

He transitioned into management in 2004, where he managed nearly 800,000 acres of public lands as the BLM's Challis Field Manager in Challis, Idaho. While serving in this capacity, he received the Secretary of Interior's Cooperative Conservation Award and the Secretary's Partners in Conservation Award. David was also recognized by the Public Lands Foundation with the “Outstanding Public Land Professional Manager" award.

In 2011, he became BLM's Associate District Manager for the Northwest District in Grand Junction, Colorado. He served in this position until transferring to the Bureau of Reclamation as the Dakotas Area Manager in 2014.

David graduated from Northern Arizona University with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering degree. 

Photo of a lady wearing a white t-shirt with a royal blue jacket over top.Deputy Regional Forester

Mary Farnsworth joined the Intermountain Region after serving as the Forest Supervisor of the Idaho Panhandle National Forests for six years. She grew up in San Diego CA, and received a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Forest Management from Humboldt State University.

Mary’s Forest Service career began on the Umatilla National Forest working in timber planning, silviculture, and wildlife, as well as a short summer fire assignment to the Redmond Hotshot crew in Central Oregon, before she headed to the Tahoe National Forest working in Fire Management. She then transferred to the Eldorado National Forest as a District Fire Management Officer before heading to the National Headquarters in Washington DC, where she worked as staff for the National Fire Plan Coordinator. After more than 2 ½ years in Washington DC, Mary became a District Ranger on the Payette National Forest in western Idaho in 2003. She was promoted to the role of Deputy Forest Supervisor on the Deschutes National Forest in Bend OR in 2008, where she served for three years prior to being selected as the Forest Supervisor for the Idaho Panhandle National Forests.

When time allows, Mary likes to mountain bike, and travel to rock hounding sites collecting material for lapidary work to make small jewelry pieces.