The Forests of the South

Hurricane Harvey making landfall in TexasLarge fire in the southern United States.



The Southern Region of the Forest Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, is a dynamic collection of lands, cared for by people as a legacy for future generations.

We believe that benefits to people flow from healthy land, that healthy land is conserved through wise management, and that management is most effective when shared.

The Southern Region encompasses 13 States—from Virginia to Florida and Oklahoma – as well as Puerto Rico. Also known as Region 8, the Southern Region is one of nine geographical regions within the Forest Service.

There are 16 units within the Southern Region, including 14 National Forests and two special units. 


Healthy working forests equal healthy economics in the South

Southern Forests Photo Collage

It may be a bit of bragging, but calling the southern U.S. the “wood basket of the world” is a bit of an understatement. Throughout the Southern Region, forestry and the forest products industry generate...(more)

Find a Forest Nearest You

Find A Forest

The Southern Region covers a vast terrain from Texas on the western border, Virginia to the north, and Puerto Rico to the south. Find a national forest nearest you.

View All Features