The Southern Region

map of the southern united states


The Southern Region of the Forest Service is a dynamic collection of lands that encompasses 13 states and Puerto Rico. Known as Region 8 within the Forest Service, the Southern Region consists of 14 national forest units and two special units. The Forest Service employs about 250 people at the Region 8 headquarters in Atlanta, and nearly 2,500 throughout the South.

2020 Regional Forester Honor Awards

The annual Regional Forester Honor Awards celebrates the year-round work of individuals, groups, units, and projects in the Southern Region. This year there were over 30 awards given to more than 90 individuals. Here is the full list of winners and the recorded video. Congratulations to all! 


Explore the Southern Region

Green Circle Icon with Handsgree circle icon with a tent and treesRRAC applicatoins here.

Green circle icon with a treePeople on Green IconHands shaking _ white outline _ Green background