The National Forests in North Carolina

National Forests in North Carolina, where gentle mountain slopes stretch for miles, with gardens of magenta rhododendron, salt marshes that connect to the sea, and lakes surrounded by pine forests.  Every year 7 million people visit these forests to camp, hike, mountain bike, hunt, fish, take scenic drives or enjoy the forest's solitude. Also get information on passes and guides for our forests! Click below to find out more about the four National Forests in North Carolina (Nantahala, Pisgah, Uwharrie, Croatan).


Receive News and Alerts by Email


Stay Connected




Recent News


Temporary rock cliff closures to protect peregrine falcons begin January 15

Close up of a Peregrine Falcon

Each year the U.S. Forest Service closes several rock faces in Western NC to recreational activities, to protect the rare Peregrine Falcons that nest there.

Use of Drones (UAS) on National Forests in North Carolina

Drone Fire Warning

Rules and regulations for drone use on the National Forests in North Carolina.

View All Features


Twelve Mile Project

Young forest allows more sunlight to reach the forest floor and provides food and cover for wildlife

This project aims to maintain a healthy, diverse forest that supports wildlife, provides a sustainable output of timber, improves water quality and aquatic habitat, and improves forest access.

Cantrell Creek Project

Cantrell Creek Project Ribbon Cutting

Cantrell Creek Trail was eroding into a creek, home to hellbenders and brook trout who need water free of excessive sediment. Partners came together to restore the stream and trail.


Croatan Hurricane Recovery Updates

Forest Service employees stand behind young longleaf pine

Updates on the Croatan National Forest's recovery after Hurricane Florence and Hurricane Dorian.

Last Update: 10/24/2019

Buck Project Fact Sheet

spotlight buck map

Information on the Buck Project on the Nantahala National Forest.

View All Spotlights


  • Visit Our Twitter Page OffSite Link