The Southern Region

map of the southern united states


The Southern Region of the Forest Service is a dynamic collection of lands that encompasses 13 states and Puerto Rico. Known as Region 8 within the Forest Service, the Southern Region consists of 14 national forest units and two special units. The Forest Service employs about 250 people at the Region 8 headquarters in Atlanta, and nearly 2,500 throughout the South.



Explore the Southern Region

Green Circle Icon with Handsgree circle icon with a tent and treesRRAC applicatoins here.

Green circle icon with a treePeople on Green IconHands shaking _ white outline _ Green background