Welcome to the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest

From the alpine peaks to the spectacular grasslands and canyons surrounding the Snake River you are sure to find an amazing experience on the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest.



Blue Mountains Forest Plan Revision

We are currently on step two of the ten-step Forest Plan Revision process.

Visit the Forest Plan Revision Webpage


About the National Forest

The Wallowa-Whitman National Forest encompasses 2.4 million acres of public lands in northeastern Oregon and western Idaho. Our staff serve the public from offices in Baker City, La Grande, and Joseph, OR; Riggins, ID; and Clarkston, WA.

Ecosystems range from the alpine peaks of the Elkhorn, Seven Devils, and Wallowa Mountains (reaching as high as 9,843 feet), to the spectacular grasslands and canyons surrounding the Snake River (reaching as low as 875 feet), and the vast watersheds, rangelands, and conifer forests in between.  There are ten Wild and Scenic Rivers, four Wilderness Areas, and one famous Hells Canyon National Recreation Area. 

The Wallowa-Whitman is part of the Pacific Northwest Region of the Forest Service (an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture).  Our mission is to “sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.”


  • Forest Stories

    Sunset over the Snake River

    From the top of the Elkhorn Mountains to the bottom of the Hells Canyon and everything in between, see stories and videos that capture the great work that the Forest Service, our partners, and our communities are doing on the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest.

Collaborative Forest Landscape Restoration in the Northern Blues

Snapshot of the CFLRP map

The Umatilla and Wallowa-Whitman National Forests, with diverse partners, developed an ambitious proposal and applied for national support from the USDA Collaborative Forest Landscape Restoration Program (CFLRP).  In October 2020, their proposal was rated first in the nation and selected for up to ten years of funding.  Learn more about CFLRP projects planned for 2022.