State, Private & Community Forests

Northern Region (Region 1) and Intermountain Region (Region 4)


Within the US Forest Service, State and Private Forestry works directly with state agencies to provide financial and technical support for natural resource management across state, private, tribal, and federal lands. The states encompassed within the Forest Service's Region 1 are: Northern Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, and Region 4: Southern Idaho, Nevada, and Utah.  

Map of region 1 and region 4

Our staff also works with regional, statewide, and local agencies, organizations, and citizens to address many of today's key natural resource issues: forest health, wildfire preparedness and mitigation, invasive species, loss of open space, and well being of rural, resource-dependent communities. 


 State and Private Forestry



Forest Legacy Interactive Map

Thumbnail for the Forest map viewer

An interactive map of the Forest Legacy projects. View, add layers, and print your map

Community Forest & Open Space Conservation Program

Graphic of families hiking in a urban forest

What is the Community Forest and Open Space Conservation Program? Click on the link to learn more with our new Story Map viewer


Partnering for Forest

Cover page Partnering for Forest with snapshots of individuals on the ground

American Forests is excited to announce the release of their latest publication.

Forest Legacy Program

Title page of Legacy Program

New - Learn more in this informative video.