Discover the Northern Region


The U.S. Forest Service Northern Region encompasses 25 million acres and is spread over 5 states. Included are 12 National Forests located within the perimeter of northeastern Washington, northern Idaho, and Montana; and the National Grasslands in North Dakota and northwestern South Dakota.

As a place for individuals and families to enjoy the outdoors, the Northern Region's public lands offer hiking, camping, fishing, hunting, skiing, kayaking, and countless other adventures. These very special areas protected from development offer the ability to escape the crowds of the city and encounter nature at its best - to experience the solitude and challenges of wildlands.

We invite you to explore the Northern Region's 15 congressionally designated wilderness areas, five National Wild and Scenic Rivers, Continental Divide National Scenic Trail, Nez Perce National Historic Trail, North Country National Scenic Trail, the 2,539 miles of the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail , and much more.



Shared Stewardship in the Northern Region

A field trip to examine a proposed project on the Beaverhead-Deerlodge National ForestShared Stewardship is an invitation to States, Tribes, local governments, partners and stakeholders to set landscape-scale priorities, leverage resources, and work across boundaries to improve forest and watershed conditions, and protect communities. Visit our stewardship resource pages to learn about efforts in the Northern Region to work more deliberately with our neighbors and partners to expand forest restoration and treatments across boundaries, resulting in a more resilient landscape.

Forest Legacy Program in Montana

Forest Legacy Montana

The Forest Legacy Program is a successful “working forest” conservation program built upon federal, state, and private partnerships. This video provides an overview of the program’s national accomplishments while highlighting a conservation easement project near Whitefish, Montana.  The project protects a community’s watershed, provides for local timber jobs and secures public access while keeping private land in private hands.  Text to video available.


View All Features


2018 Regional Forester Awards

Leanne Marten, Regional Forester for the Northern Region, recognizes employees and partners for their outstanding contributions to the work of the Forest Service in 2018.

Comments on Greater Sage-Grouse Plans Received and Summarized

Photograph of a greater sage grouse

Regions 1, 2, and 4 of the Forests Service incorporated standards and guidelines for the conservation of greater sage-grouse into forest plans in 2015.

Highway 12 Corridor Report

Picture of the Lochsa River and Highway 12, looking south

The report Values of the Middle Fork Clearwater and Lochsa River Corridor Potentially Affected by Certain Over-Legal Truck Traffic is available for reading and download.