About the Forest

Overview of the different areas of the forest.The former Chequamegon and Nicolet National Forests, established in the early 1930s, were officially combined into the Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest in February 1998. The Forest is also home to the Blackwell Job Corps Civilian Conservation Center and Mondeaux Dam Lodge.


Explore our CCC heritage

snow tower
The Civilian Conservation Corps and Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest played big roles in the reforestation of northern Wisconsin, which in 1933 was heavily logged and burned over.  There are more than 100 CCC sites on the Forest. These include buildings, bridges, plantations, former camps and fire towers.  Some of the sites still exist and are still in use, others have been reconstructed, some have been demolished or removed. 
We picked a few of the sites that have something to see, are easy to access and are open to the public. We put together information, pictures and maps to help you learn more about them and the role of CCC on the CNNF.  To start exploring, click the photo or here:


Visit the CNNF on YouTube

CNNF in partnership with Nicolet Technical College Digital Graphics students has produced seven “promotional” videos featuring the forest.