About the Forest

Organizational Overview

The Coronado National Forest consists of Five Ranger Districts and a Supervisor's Office. One District office is located in each of the following Southern Arizona Communities; Douglas, Nogales, Safford, and Sierra Vista. The Santa Catalina District office is located in Tucson as is the Supervisors Office.


The Coronado National Forest evolved through fourteen different shifts in government land before the Coronado National Forest, part of which lies in New Mexico, attained the form which it has today. Read More »

Mission Statement

Our Forest mission is to sustain the unique biodiversity of the sky island ecosystems and provide a variety of high quality visitor opportunities and services within the capabilities of these ecosystems. We promote the use of prescribed fire as an important tool in maintaining healthy ecosystems. We will continue to enhance our organizational effectiveness and community partnerships.


The sky islands of the Coronado National Forest are healthy ecosystems with an abundant and diverse flora and fauna. They provide an array of high quality outdoor recreation opportunities with an emphasis on enhancing visitor understanding and enjoyment of the Forest’s special natural and cultural resources. Rural communities and urban residents collaborate with the Forest Service. Our employees are highly valued as conservation leaders.


  • Biological diversity
  • Quality outdoor recreation opportunities
  • Fire protection and management
  • Public relations and collaboration
  • Organizational effectiveness