Districts

The forest is divided into five administrative units called ranger districts; as well as the Bessey Nursery.  Ranger District and Nursery offices are located in Chadron & Halsey, Nebraska, and Fort Pierre, Hot Springs, & Wall, South Dakota. The supervisor's office oversees all units.

Nebraska National Forests & Grasslands Supervisor's Office

Forests & Grasslands Supervisor: Jack Isaacs, jack.isaacs@usda.gov

125 North Main Street
Chadron, NE 69337
308-432-0300
308-432-0304 TDD 
Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 - 4:30 MT

 

Pine Ridge Ranger District, Nebraska National Forest & Oglala National Grassland

Pine Ridge Ranger District office

District Ranger: Tim Buskirk

timothy.buskirk@usda.gov

16524 Hwy 385
Chadron, NE 69337
308-432-6855
308-432-0304 TDD
Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 - 4:30 MT

 

Bessey Ranger District, Nebraska National Forest & Samuel R. McKelvie National Forest & Charles E. Bessey Tree Nursery

Bessey Ranger District office

District Ranger: Julie Bain
julie.bain@usda.gov

Nursery Manager: Richard Gilbert
richard.gilbert@usda.gov

P. O. Box 39
Halsey, NE 69142
308-533-2257
Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:30-5:00 CT 

 

Fall River Ranger District, Buffalo Gap National Grassland (West half)

Fall River Ranger District office

District Ranger: Julie Wheeler

julie.wheeler@usda.gov

1801 Hwy.  #18 Truck Bypass
Hot Springs, SD 57747
605-745-4107
Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 - 4:30 MT

 

Ft. Pierre Ranger District, Ft. Pierre National Grassland

Fort Pierre Ranger District office

District Ranger: Dan Svingen

dan.svingen@usda.gov

1020 North Deadwood Street
Fort Pierre, SD 57532
605-224-5517
Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00 CT

 

Wall Ranger District, Buffalo Gap National Grassland (East half) & National Grasslands Visitor Center

National Grassland Visitor Center building

District Ranger: Alex Grant

alex.grant@usda.gov

P. O. Box 425, 710 Main Street
Wall, SD 57790
605-279-2126
Office Hours:  Hours vary, please call and find out current info.



https://www.fs.usda.gov/main/nebraska/about-forest/districts