About the Forest

Comprised of about 1.25 million acres, the Prescott National Forest borders three other National Forests in Arizona: Kaibab, Coconino, and Tonto. Roughly half of the forest lies west of the city of Prescott, Arizona, in the Juniper, Santa Maria, Sierra Prieta, and Bradshaw Mountains. The other half of the Forest lies east of Prescott and takes in the Black Hills, Mingus Mountain, Black Mesa, and the headwaters of the Verde River.

Administratively, the Prescott National Forest is comprised of three Ranger Districts: the Bradshaw Ranger District, the Chino Valley Ranger District and the Verde Ranger District. The Forest is also home to the Prescott Fire Center and Henry Y. H. Kim Aviation Facility.

History of the Prescott National Forest

Portions of the Prescott National Forest today are much the same as they were when Sam Miller panned for gold in Lynx Creek and was wounded by a cougar, or when General Crook's flag fluttered over Palace Station. (MORE History of the Prescott National Forest)


At the lowest elevation, the primary vegetation is of the Sonoran Desert type. As the elevation rises, chaparral becomes common, followed by piñon pine and juniper. Above that, Ponderosa pine dominates the landscape.