About the Region


2016 Annual Report

graphic stating 2016 annual reportThe Pacific Northwest Region Forest Annual Report and Story Map highlight many of the benefits, contributions, and services the Forest Service provides to the public and communities of Oregon and Washington. National forests benefit communities across the Pacific Northwest in countless ways, from economic benefits, recreation opportunities, clean drinking water, habitat for fish and wildlife, and so much more. This annual report showcases many of the ways the Forest Service contributes to the public we proudly serve. Annual Report (PDF) - Annual Report Story Map

About Pacific Northwest Region 6

The Pacific Northwest Region (Region 6) of the US Forest Service contains 17 National Forests, a National Scenic Area, a National Grassland, and two National Volcanic Monuments, all within the States of Oregon and Washington. The Forests provide timber for people, forage for cattle and wildlife, habitat for fish, plants, and animals, and some of the finest recreation lands in the country.

Oregon and Washington host a diversity of ecosystems and ecoregions from wet temperate rain forests in some coastal areas to the more arid high desert areas of eastern Oregon and Washington. The Pacific Northwest Region is bound by the Pacific Ocean to the west and includes several mountain ranges: the Coast Mountains, the Cascade Range, the Olympic Mountains, and the Columbia Mountains. Active volcanoes within the Oregon and Washington region include Mount Baker, Mount Rainier, Mount St Helens, which erupted in 1980, Mount Hood, and Mount Jefferson. Most of the human population of the Pacific Northwest is currently concentrated in the VancouverSeattlePortland corridor.

List of Pacific Northwest National Forests by state:

Olympic National Forest.Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area.Fremont-Winema National  Forest.Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest. Umpqua National Forest.  Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest. Okanogan & Wenatchee National Forests. Colville National Forest.  Gifford Pinchot National Forest. Mt. Hood National Forest. Willamette National Forest.  Deschutes and Ochoco National Forests. Umatilla National Forest. Wallowa Whitman National Forest.Wallowa Whitman National Forest. Wallowa Whitman National Forest. Malheur National Forest. Deschutes and Ochoco National Forests. Siuslaw National Forest.




  • Tweets from PNW Link opens in a new window