The Rio Grande National Forest has a supervisor's office and three districts. To learn more about each district please click on their names below. 

Conejos Peak Ranger District
Southern portion of the forest, includes the South San Juan Wilderness, the historic mining towns of Summitville and Platoro and Alamosa and Conejos canyons. Also included is the central portion of the Sangre de Cristo Mountain Range. This district includes the towns of Antonito, Blanca, La Jara, Mogote and Platoro.

Divide Ranger District
Western portion of the forest, includes the headwaters of the Rio Grande River,part of the Weminuche Wilderness and part of the La Garita Wilderness, Wheeler Geologic Area, and the mining town of Creede. Highway 160 over Wolf Creek Pass and Highway 149 over Spring Creek Pass travel through this portion of the forest. This district includes the towns of Creede, Del Norte, Monte Vista and South Fork. There is a satellite office in the town of Creede.

Saguache Ranger District
Northern and eastern portion of the forest. Includes portions of the La Garita Wilderness and the Sangre de Cristo Wilderness which includes 4 peaks over 14,000 ft, the historic mining town of Bonanza and borders the Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve. This district includes the towns of Crestone, Saguache and Villa Grove.

Related Links

Divide District

Natural Arch, southwest of La Garita

Saguache District

Penitente Canyon

along FR 250

The Pinnacles in Conejos Canyon