District Overview

District Offices

The Caribou-Targhee National Forest public lands are administered through a headquarters office located in Idaho Falls and 7 Ranger Districts each led by a District Ranger.  The Ranger Districts include Ashton/Island Park, Dubois, Montpelier, Palisades, Soda Springs, Teton Basin, and Westside.

Citizens interested in obtaining woodcutting permits, Christmas tree cutting permits, or other specialized products generally need to contact the local district office.


Ashton/Island Park

Teton Basin


Soda Springs



Curlew National Grassland

Ranger District Location