Alaska Forest Health Protection: About Us & Contact Us

Our mission is to protect and enhance forest health through the transfer of information and resources to landowners and managers. We monitor the extent and impacts of damaging insects, diseases, and invasive plants; provide timely survey and monitoring information; and offer technical and financial assistance to land managers to prevent and control forest pest outbreaks. We partner with the Alaska Department of Natural Resources to monitor for newly introduced pests and conduct annual aerial surveys in summer to map forest damage. As part of the State & Private Forestry branch of the U.S. Forest Service, Forest Health Protection addresses forest health needs across diverse land ownerships.


Forest Health Protection (FHP) Offices in Alaska

Map of three Alaska FHP office locations with forest area.

Click location for address & staff contacts

Debbie Hollen, Director, Regions 6/10 State & Private Forestry, 
Portland, OR, dahollen@fs.fed.us, 503-808-234


Anchorage, Forest Health Protection, Southcentral Field Office
161 East 1st Avenue, Door 8, Anchorage, AK 99501

John
Lundquist

Entomologist (FHP/PNW Research)
jlundquist@fs.fed.us, 907-743-9453

Michael
Shephard

Deputy Director R6/10 State & Private Forestry
mshephard@fs.fed.us, 907-743-9451

Steve
Swenson

Biological Science Technician 
sswenson@fs.fed.us, 907-743-9456


Fairbanks, Forest Health Protection, Interior Field Office
3700 Airport Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709

Stephen
Burr

Entomologist
sburr@fs.fed.us, 907-451-2701

Garret
Dubois

Biological Science Technician
garretddubois@fs.fed.us, 907-743-9453

Tricia
Wurtz

Ecologist
twurtz@fs.fed.us, 907-451-2799

Lori
Winton

Plant Pathologist
lmwinton@fs.fed.us, 907-743-9460 
(serving SC/Interior AK)


Juneau, Forest Health Protection, Southeast Field Office
Juneau Forestry Sciences Laboratory
11175 Auke Lake Way, Juneau, AK 99801

Elizabeth
Graham

Entomologist
eegraham@fs.fed.us, 907-586-8883 

Paul
Hennon

Plant Pathologist, Retired August 2016

Tom
Heutte

Aerial Survey Coordinator
theutte@fs.fed.us, 907-586-8835

Karen
Hutten

Biological Scientist
khutten@fs.fed.us, 907-586-8835 

Robin
Mulvey

Plant Pathologist
rlmulvey@ fs.fed.us, 907-586-7971

 
 

Return to top
Return to homepage