Alaska Forest Health Protection: Mission, Locations & Contacts

Our mission is to protect and enhance forest health by providing landowners and managers with information and resources. We monitor the extent and impacts of damaging insects, diseases and invasive plants, provide timely survey and monitoring information and offer technical and financial assistance to prevent and control forest pest outbreaks. We partner with the Alaska Department of Natural Resources to monitor for newly introduced pests and conduct annual aerial surveys in summer to map forest damage. As part of the State & Private Forestry branch of the U.S. Forest Service, Forest Health Protection addresses forest health needs on the Tongass and Chugach National Forests and across diverse land ownerships statewide.

Forest Health Protection (FHP) Offices & Regions of Alaska

Map of three Alaska FHP office locations with forest area.

Click location for address & staff contacts (or scroll down page)

 


 
Anchorage, Forest Health Protection, Southcentral Field Office
161 East 1st Avenue, Door 8, Anchorage, AK 99501
 

Michael
Shephard

Deputy Director S&PF
michael.shephard@usda.gov
907-743-9451

Michael Shephard, Assistant Director S&PF.

Steve
Swenson

Biological Science Technician 
steve.swenson@usda.gov
907-743-9456

Steve Swenson staff photo, Biological Technician Southcentral Alaska.

Position Currently Vacant

Entomologist
907-743-9453

 
 
Fairbanks, Forest Health Protection, Interior Field Office
3700 Airport Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709
 

Stephen
Burr

Entomologist
stephen.burr@usda.gov
907-451-2701

Stephen Burr staff photo, Interior Alaska Entomologist.

Garret
Dubois

Biological Science Technician
garret.d.dubois@usda.gov
907-374-3758

Garret Dubois staff photo, Interior Alaska Biological Technician.

Tricia
Wurtz

Ecologist,
Invasive Plant Program Coordinator
tricia.wurtz@usda.gov
907-451-2799

Trish Wurtz staff photo, Interior Alaska Ecologist and Invasive Plant Program Coordinator.

Lori
Winton

Plant Pathologist
Soutcentral & Interior AK
loretta.winton@usda.gov
907-743-9460 

Lori Winton staff photo, Southcentral/Interior Alaska Pathologist.
 
Juneau, Forest Health Protection, Southeast Field Office
Juneau Forestry Sciences Laboratory
11175 Auke Lake Way, Juneau, AK 99801
 

Elizabeth
Graham

Entomologist
elizabeth.e.graham@usda.gov
907-586-8883 

Elizabeth Graham, Entomologist for Southeast Alaska.

Karen
Hutten

Aerial Detection Survey Coordinator (Detail Fall 2018)
Biological Scientist
karen.hutten@usda.gov
907-586-7807

Karen Hutten, Biological Scientist Southeast Alaska.

Robin
Mulvey

Plant Pathologist
robin.mulvey@usda.gov
907-586-7971

Robin Mulvey, Southeast Alaska Forest Pathologist.

Regional Office Portland, OR
 

Debbie Hollen

Director State & Private Forestry Regions 6 &10
debbie.hollen@usda.gov
503-808-234

Debbie Hollen, Director State and Private Forestry Regions 6/10.
 
 

Return to top
Return to homepage





https://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/r10/forest-grasslandhealth/?cid=fsbdev2_038892