Due to a lapse in federal funding, this USDA website will not be actively updated. Once funding has been reestablished, online operations will continue. On-going operational updates will be posted here (https://www.fs.fed.us/shutdown) as we are able to provide them.



Map showing district boundaries


District Offices and District Boundaries

Same map as above with major roads


The approximate 3 million acres of the Superior National Forest is divided into five Ranger Districts, each with a central ranger station which is open to the public.  Additionally, the Tofte Ranger District maintains a work station in Isabella which is open in the summer to provide information and services to visitors in that area.

Office addresses, phone numbers, and hours. 

More about the Forest District Offices and local communities:

Headquarters- Supervisor's Office

Gunflint Ranger District

Tofte Ranger District

Laurentian Ranger District

Kawishiwi Ranger District

LaCroix Ranger District