Advisory Committees

Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA)

Federal agencies have a broad array of ways to consult with the public, including public meetings, forums, certain work products and meeting initiated by partners. Some partnerships have formal arrangements that involve legal documents or administrative tasks.

In particular a Federal agency is required to follow the Federal Advisory Committee Act when the agency establishes, uses, controls or manages a group with non-federal members to provide the agency with consensus advice or recommendations. These committees are often referred to as Resource Advisory Committees.

The 1972 Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) is an important law passed to ensure citizen involvement in federal decisions is equitable, that no one individual or group has undue influence. Visit the FACA page for more information.

Resource Advisory Committees (RACs)

Columbia County RAC

Southeast Washington RAC

Northeast Oregon RAC


June 10, 2022: Northeast Oregon Forests accepting proposals for Title II funding

May 20, 2022: Umatilla National Forest seeking members to serve on two Resource Advisory Committees

  • To express interest in serving one of these RACs, please fill out the survey by July 31, 2022.

Nov 30, 2022: Northeast Oregon Forests accepting proposals for Title II funding

Secure Rural Schools Title II Project Proposal Form

Project submission forms are available here:

Northeast Oregon RAC Forms

For more information please contact:

Information on Resource Advisory Committees and Committee Application Form

Resource Advisory Committees (RAC) exist as part of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act. The RAC is made of citizens representing a variety of natural resource-based interests who were selected by the Secretary of Agriculture to advise the Forest Service on the use of funds allocated to counties through the Reauthorization of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000, also called “Payments to States” Act.

The purpose of the RAC is to improve collaboration and provide advice to the Forest Service. RAC members are responsible for reviewing proposed land management projects on or adjacent to national forest lands. The RAC then makes recommendations to the Forest Service in accordance with the Act on which projects should be funded. 

Secure Rural Schools program website

RAC Nomination/Application Forms

Secure Rural Schools RAC Application Forms

[ DOC: Application / Supplemental ]  [ PDF: Application / Supplemental ]

Resource Advisory Committee Reference Material

Reimbursement Forms


About Resource Advisory Committees (RACS)

Resource Advisory Committees (RACs) were established under Section 205 of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self Determination Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-393) signed by the President on October 30, 2000 and reauthorized in April 2015 through September 2017.  RACs consist of 15 members representing a wide array of interests.

The committees’ duties include reviewing proposed forest management projects in accordance with the Act and make recommendations to the Forest Service, coordinating with land management agency officials, and providing opportunities for interested parties to participate in the project development process.  Committee members are committed to working collaboratively with other interests for the long-term benefit of national forest system lands.

Public Law 106-393 created a mechanism for local community collaboration with federal land managers in recommending projects to be conducted on federal lands or that will benefit resources on federal lands.  The geographic boundaries of the RACs in Oregon and Washington are generally aligned with National Forest boundaries, and each RAC is assigned a Designated Federal Official (DFO) to serve as the point of contact. 

Council members serve a three-year term without compensation, but may be reimbursed for travel and per diem expenses.  Meetings are generally held quarterly at locations within the geographic area the RAC serves.  Members must reside within the State in which the RAC is located, and to the extent practicable, within the RAC boundary.  Prospective members are advised that membership on a RAC calls for a substantial commitment of time and energy.

These committees are balanced and diverse with equal representation from industry, environmental groups, elected officials, and local people.  Specifically, the composition of each RAC is balanced according to the following three interest categories identified in Public Law 106-393:

Category One: (five regular members and one replacement) who represent one or more of the following interests:

  • Organized labor
  • Developed outdoor recreation, off-highway vehicle users, or commercial recreation
  • Energy and mineral development
  • Commercial timber industry
  • Federal grazing permit holders or land use permit holders within the RAC area

Category Two: (five regular members and one replacement) who represent one or more of the following interests):

  • Nationally recognized environmental organizations
  • Regionally or locally recognized environmental organizations
  • Dispersed recreation activities
  • Archaeological and historical interests
  • Nationally or regionally recognized wild horse or burro groups

Category Three: (five regular members and one replacement) who represent one or more of the following interests):

  • State-elected office holders or their designee
  • County or local elected office holders
  • American Indian tribal representatives from tribes within or adjacent to RAC areas
  • School officials or teachers
  • Citizens representing the affected public at large