About the Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest

Landscape photos of mountains and river
Berry Meadows, Wisdom Ranger District

This largest of the national forests in Montana covers 3.35 million acres, and lies in eight Southwest Montana counties (Granite, Powell, Jefferson, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Madison, Gallatin and Beaverhead). More...

The official address of this site is fs.usda.gov/bdnf If you are curious about the long address you see in your web browser or interested in other short addresses for specific sections of this site, visit our web address information page.

Recent News


Comments on Greater Sage-Grouse Plans Received and Summarized

Two Sage-grouse

The Northern, Intermountain, and Rocky Mountain Regions of the Forest Service incorporated standards and guidelines for the conservation of greater sage-grouse into forest plans in 2015. As plans have been implemented, potential inefficiencies and difficulties have been identified. To thoroughly and transparently explore the effectiveness of the plans, the Forest Service asked for comments from the public during a comment period which ran from November 21, 2017 to January 19, 2018. The comments received are summarized into the report, Potential Amendments to Land Management Plans Regarding Sage-grouse Conservation. 

Key Contacts

Facebook logoflickr logo Follow Us on Twitter YouTube logo

closeup of a lily flower

Photos of the Forest

Birch Creek CCC buildings

Birch Creek CCC Camp