Welcome to the Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest!

Endless exploration

With 2.8 million acres of public land spread across mountain ranges from the Continental Divide to the eastern edges of central Montana, your favorite place is out there!

Camping Hiking Maps Passes and Permits

About Us

The scenic Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest stretches 2.8-million acres through central and north-central Montana. The Forest is comprised of island mountain ranges bisected by the Continental Divide and Missouri River and includes 6 ranger districts: Lincoln, Helena, Townsend, Judith - Musselshell, Rocky Mountain, and Belt Creek - White Sulphur Springs and 2 Forest Supervisor's offices located in Helena and Great Falls to oversee forest management in 17 counties.

Follow us on Facebook!



Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center to celebrate 25th anniversary

diorama of Corps of Discovery portage

The Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center in Great Falls will be celebrating its 25th anniversary June 30-July 2, 2023.  Learn about festivities that will take place this summer.

View Feature

Restoring Beaver Creek

Beaver Creek volunteers

Beaver Creek is the primary spawning tributary for the large migratory rainbow and brown trout that move up from Holter Reservoir in the spring and fall. Beaver Creek was listed as an impaired stream by the Montana Department of Environmental Quality for both sediment and riparian damage. The Forest Service and the Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks had noted declines in spawning rainbow trout over the past 20 years due to angling pressure, predation, whirling disease, and continued habitat degradation. The Beaver Creek Restoration Project is working to restore 1.2 miles of stream to its natural state improving both water quality and fish habitat. This is a collaborative effort with many partners including NorthWestern Energy, River Design Group, MT Fish Wildlife and Parks, and Pat Barnes Trout Unlimited Chapter.  

View Feature