Welcome to the Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest!


Endless exploration

With 2.8 million acres of public land spread across mountain ranges from the Continental Divide to the eastern edges of central Montana, your favorite place is out there!

Camping Hiking Maps Passes and Permits

About Us

The scenic Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest stretches 2.8-million acres through central and north-central Montana. The Forest is comprised of island mountain ranges bisected by the Continental Divide and Missouri River and includes 6 ranger districts: Lincoln, Helena, Townsend, Judith - Musselshell, Rocky Mountain, and Belt Creek - White Sulphur Springs and 2 Forest Supervisor's offices located in Helena and Great Falls to oversee forest management in 17 counties.

Follow us on Facebook!



Be Bear Aware!

Grizzly Bear

The Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest is home to both black and grizzly bears, and provides important habitat for bears and other wildlife to use throughout the year. Learning about bears will help you become a more knowledgeable visitor to the forest, and will help keep both you and bears safe while sharing the woods.

View Feature

Protecting Our Forests and Communities

Forest Supervisor Emily Platt

Message from Forest Supervisor Emily Platt on the importance of working with partners to reduce expensive and severe wildfires through hazardous fuels mitigation work.  

View Feature