About the Forest

Fire lookout tower high on a rock ridge.


Our mission is to lead in the conservation and wise use of the nation’s forests and grasslands. To carry out this mission, the USDA Forest Service is organized into three areas: the National Forest System, Research, and State and Private Forestry. As part of the National Forest System, the Rocky Mountain Region enjoys a proud heritage in the Forest Service.

Pike and San Isabel National Forest and Cimarron and Comanche National Grasslands (PSICC) are comprised of 2 national forests and 2 national grasslands throughout Colorado, Kansas. The PSICC (forest locator map) covers nearly 3 million acres, between the prairies of western Kansas and some of Colorado's highest mountain peaks along the Continental Divide. These sprawling forests and grasslands are an eight hour drive from boundary to boundary. This landscape offers a variety of ecosystems rich in history, geology, scenery, wildlife habitat and recreation opportunities.

New Century of Service

The Forest Service celebrated our 100th birthday in 2005! The USDA Forest Service is led by Chief Vicki Christiansen. With a national headquarters in Washington, D.C., the Forest Service operates through nine regions around the country. The Rocky Mountain Region is led by Regional Forester Brian Ferebee.

Forest and Grassland Leadership

  • Diana Trujillo, Forest Supervisor 
  • Dave Condit, Deputy Forest Supervisor

Member of the PSICC Forest and Grassland Leadership Team lined up in two rows below forest name.

The PSICC Leadership Team on March 6, 2019

Front row from left: Oscar Martinez, Maria Beltran, Destiny Chapman, Diana Trujillo, Dave Condit, Lauri Cady and Laci Davilman

Back row from left: Kevin Taylor, Jim Pitts, Brian Banks, Jeff Gainey, Bill King, Jace Ratzlaff, Josh Voorhis