OHV Riding & Camping

Choose from the following to find a site:


trail sign for Timberline ATV trailWith over a hundred miles of trails designated for different sizes and types of off-highway vehicles, we provide adventure for riders of all skill levels. Trails are rated from an easier ride on the Timberline Trail to moderate on the Marienville, Rocky Gap north loop, and Willow Creek Trails, to difficult on the Rocky Gap south loop, and recommended for bikes only on the Penoke Bike Trail. Motorized travel is only allowed on designated trails and requires an Allegheny National Forest annual or daily ATV or off-highway motorcycle permit. You will receive an ATV/OHM trails map when you purchase your permit. For a permit application and a list of vendors please visit our Recreation Passes and Permits page

Pennsylvania State Regulations apply to the operation of ATVs, Dirt Bikes, and other off-highway vehicles on the Forest and can be found on the Pennsylvania DCNR website.

Juvenile Requirements

Up to 8 years old - If your child is required to ride in a child safety seat or booster seat in your vehicle, the same is required for an ATV. The only way you can install a child safety seat or booster seat in an ATV is if you have a side-by-side that comes with manufacturer installed seat belts. No children under 8 may ride double on an ATV or dirt bike.

8-15 years old - Must have completed ATV Safety Training and have a valid Safety Certificate with them while on the trail. They must be accompanied by an adult 18 years old or older.

Protect the environment

  • Minimize erosion by staying on trails and not cutting switchbacks.
  • Avoid wet, muddy areas as they are more susceptible to erosion. Meadows, lake shores, stream banks and vegetation are easily damaged.
  • Do not ride on snow-covered roads!
  • Teach new riders trail etiquette—lead by example.
  • Don’t litter. Pack out more than your share.

Ride safely, stay in control

  • The forest is for everyone. Be considerate of hikers and equestrians.
  • Yield right-of-way to other trail users. Horses spook when they see an unfamiliar object, especially one which moves quickly and quietly.
  • Control your speed at all times and approach turns in anticipation of someone around the bend. Reckless riding and high downhill speeds are not appropriate.
  • Wear your helmet and protective gear.

Follow vehicle regulations

  • No passengers are allowed on all-terrain vehicles, unless vehicles are designed to carry passengers.
  • All vehicles must be registered and licensed. Non-street legal "red sticker" vehicles have a limited operating period on the forest.
  • Obey all traffic signs. State traffic laws apply to all national forest roads; violations are reported to the state department of motor vehicles.
  • Within campgrounds and other recreation sites, use cars, motorbikes, motorcycles, or other motor vehicles only for entering or leaving, unless directed otherwise.
  • Park only in designated parking areas.
  • Do not block, restrict, or interfere with the use of roads, trails and gates.
  • Spark arresters, mufflers, and brakes are required for motorized vehicles.
  • Don’t drink and ride. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited on all trail systems or in recreation areas. 

Recreation Areas

Recreation Activities