Due to a lapse in federal funding, this USDA website will not be actively updated. Once funding has been reestablished, online operations will continue. On-going operational updates will be posted here (https://www.fs.fed.us/shutdown) as we are able to provide them.


About the Forest

View Larger Interactive Map

We stretch over 400 miles with 7 districts to explore.

Located in south central, southeastern Montana and northwestern South Dakota the seven districts that make up the Custer Gallatin National Forest are rich in cultural and ecological diversity.  The Forest stretches from rugged high-country of the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness, the Gallatin Crest and vast portions of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem to the rolling landscapes and buttes of far southeastern Montana and northwestern South Dakota on the Ashland and Camp Crook districts.

Custer Gallatin Vicinity Map to Montana



Rich Wildlife

World Class Fishing

Part of the Largest Intact Ecosystem in the Lower 48 States

About a million acres of Wilderness, just a portion of the 3.1 million acres on the Forest to roam

Visit Us!

Ashland Ranger District

Beartooth Ranger District

Bozeman Ranger District

Gardiner Ranger District

Hebgen Lake Ranger District

Sioux Ranger District

Yellowstone Ranger District


Gallatin National Forest Gallatin National Forest Gallatin National Forest