About the Area

Crossroads of California

The Forest lies at the heart of one of the most fascinating areas of California, called the Crossroads. Here the granite of the Sierra Nevada, the lava of the Cascades and the Modoc Plateau, and the sagebrush of the Great Basin meet and blend.

Lassen National Forest is a total of 1.2 million acres or 1,875 square miles. It lies within seven counties; Lassen, Shasta, Tehama, Butte, Plumas, Siskiyou, and Modoc.

It is an area of great variety, greeting visitors and residents alike with a wide array of recreational opportunities and adventures. Fishing, hunting, camping, hiking, bicycling, boating, snowmobiling,cross-country skiing, and just exploring and learning about nature are among the many popular pastimes.

Within the Lassen National Forest you can explore a lava tube or the land of Ishi, the last survivor of the Yahi Yana Native American tribe; watch pronghorn antelope glide across sage flats or an osprey snatch fish from lake waters; drive four-wheel trails into high granite country appointed with sapphire lakes or discover spring wildflowers on foot.

The Lassen National Forest is managed for all of these and more - timber for homes, forage for livestock, water, minerals, and many other resources the land offers. It is a challenging mission aimed at providing the greatest good for the most good over the long run. We welcome you to the Lassen National Forest. We hope you will find your visit memorable and enjoyable.

[image] Lassen National Forest Map

About Susanville Ishi Wilderness


Lassen County Road Cams

The road conditions around the Lassen National Forest can change very quickly, get a view of the conditions just before you decide to travel by viewing the road cameras around the forest.

View Feature