Regional Overview

Public lands are yours to enjoy and take care of

 The USDA Forest Service is a federal agency within the U.S. Department of Agriculture that manages 193 million acres of national forests and national grasslands. We manage your public lands, provide technical and financial assistance to state and private forestry agencies and make up the largest forestry research organization in the world.

The Rocky Mountain Region of the USDA Forest Service manages more than 40 million acres in five states (Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.) 17 National Forests and 7 National Grasslands are home to a magnificent diversity of resources and cultures. Western and eastern forests meet here, and the mountains of Colorado and Wyoming serve as the headwaters of seven major river systems. 

The Forest Service Organization: 

  • Ranger Districts - The district ranger and his or her staff may be your first point of contact with the Forest Service. Each district has a staff of 10 to 100 people. Many on-the-ground activities occur on the ranger districts, including visitor information, trail construction and maintenance, campground operations and management of vegetation and wildlife habitat.

  • Supervisor's Office (Headquarters) - There are 17 national forests and 7 grasslands in the Rocky Mountain Region (R2). Each forest is composed of several ranger districts. The person in charge of a national forest is the forest supervisor. The district rangers from the districts within a forest work for the forest supervisor. The headquarters of a national forest is called the supervisor's office. This level coordinates activities between districts, allocates the budget, and provides technical support to each district.

  • Regions - There are 9 regions in the US Forest Service, numbered 1 through 10 (Region 7 was eliminated some years ago). The regions are broad geographic areas, usually including several States. The person in charge is called the regional forester. Forest supervisors of the national forests within a region report to the regional forester. The regional office staff coordinates activities between national forests, monitors activities on national forests to ensure quality operations, provides guidance for forest plans, and allocates budgets to the forests.

  • Interagency Incident Management Coordination Centers - The Rocky Mountain Area Coordination Center is our interagency dispatch and emergency management center operated by USDA Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and Colorado State Forest Service.

Key Contacts

Regional Forester
Brian Ferebee

Acting, Deputy Regional Forester
Bunni Maceo

Deputy Regional Forester
Jacque Buchanan

Business Hours
7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. MST

303-275–5367 for the hearing impaired

Address (mailing & street)
USDA Forest Service
Rocky Mountain Region
1617 Cole Blvd.
Bldg. 17
Lakewood, CO 80401

Regional Office Phone Numbers

Have a comment or question? Send us an Email.

The mission of the Forest Service is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.

"Where conflicting interests must be reconciled, the question shall always be answered from the standpoint of the greatest good of the greatest number in the long run."- Gifford Pinchot