Advisory Committees

All About Your Resource Advisory Committees!

Citizens Help Us In Our Mission

Citizens involvement is important to the work we do! There are a variety of ways the public can become involved in how we do our work. Advisory committees, with members from nearly every occupational and industry group and geographic location, have played an important role in accomplishing the Forest Service mission. The Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1967 applies when we establish, use, control or manage a group with non-federal members that provide the agency with consensus advice or recommendations.

Resource Advisory Committee vicinity map

The Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act requires that RACs be formed to:

  • Recommend Title II projects to the appropriate Secretary
  • Improve collaborative relationships
  • Provide advice and recommendations to the land management agencies

How are the RACs comprised?

  • Each RAC must have 3 categories with 5 members each (15 members total)
  • The Forest Service (FS), Bureau of Land Management (BLM) and Counties solicited RAC members in April 2000.

Different RACs exist for Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management projects. There are a total of 6 Bureau of Land Management RACs and 7 Forest Service RACs in Oregon. RACs are typically defined by a combination of agency and county boundaries.

Siskiyou RAC

Siskiyou RAC vicinity map

Rogue-Umpqua RAC