Choose from the following to find a site:


To all Shasta-Trinity National Forest visitors

Hunting is a seasonal activity, and the rules are simple: Follow the state laws and regulations pertaining to hunting, including seasons, dates and licensing. Forests and grasslands may place some areas as off limits to hunting. So check in with your local Forest Service ranger to be sure you are following all the rules.

Hunting is permitted during hunting seasons designated by the California State Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW). Licenses are available Online, at any CDFW License Sales Office or License Agent.

As a result of recent fires, portions of the forest contain many hazards like dead and falling trees and unstable soil. Please call the closest ranger station for current conditions and warnings.

Hunters should contact private land owners within hunting zones to ensure hunting access is permitted on these private lands.

Hunters and other outdoor enthusiasts, should be extra cautious because of extreme fire danger conditions. Please check for fire restrictions before you go. Campfire permits are required to have a campfire or stove at a dispersed site. Campfire permits are available online at

The Shasta-Trinity National Forest has a variety of game species for hunters to test their skills against. Since the seasons and hunting requirements vary according to species, hunters are urged to check out California Department of Fish & Wildlife Regulations. A valid State of California hunting license is required.

Big Game Hunting

There is a variety of game species such as Deer, Black Bear, Elk, Antelope and Wild Pig. To get information on hunting license requirements, you will need to contact the California Department of Fish & Wildlife.

Hunting Courtesy

  • Respect the rights of private property owners.
  • Adhere to hunter safety regulations.
  • Do not shoot or deface public signs; they are expensive to maintain and replace.
  • Do not drive beyond gated Forest Service roads. These roads are closed to protect easily damaged road surfaces.
  • If you become lost, don’t wander off; stay put until help arrives.

Recreation Areas

Recreation Activities