Welcome to Lassen National Forest

Lassen National Forest

Come discover the wonder and beauty where the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range meets the Cascade Mountain Range. Granite meets volcanic!

Plan Your Visit

The Crossroads of California

Lassen National Forest is a total of 1.2 million acres or 1,875 square miles. It lies within seven counties; Lassen, Shasta, Tehama, Butte, Plumas, Siskiyou, and Modoc. More information about the forest.

Federal Lands Recreation Enhancement Act (REA) Proposed Developed Recreation Fee Changes 

Public Comment Period August 15 - November 1, 2023. Learn more about these proposed changes here. If you wish to leave public comment you may do so electronically, or by turning in a public comment card to any of our Lassen National Forest District offices.

What's New?