Advisory Committees

Resource Advisory Committees (RACS)

Resource Advisory Committees (RACs) were established under Section 205 of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self Determination Act of 2000.  RACs consist of 15 members representing a wide array of interests.

The committees’ duties include reviewing proposed forest management projects in accordance with the Act and make recommendations to the Forest Service, coordinating with land management agency officials, and providing opportunities for interested parties to participate in the project development process.  Committee members are committed to working collaboratively with other interests for the long-term benefit of national forest system lands.

More Information


Provincial Advisory Committees (PACS)

The Eastern Washington Cascades and Yakima Provincial Advisory Committees (EWAC & YAK PACs) are two of 12 federal advisory committees established under the Federal Advisory Committee Act as a result of the Northwest Forest Plan (NWFP). The purpose of the 12 advisory committees is to help to facilitate communication between federal and non-federal entities to help implement the NWFP.

More Information