The Tahoe National Forest contains about 1.2 million acres within the Forest boundary, however about 400,000 acres are privately owned and the other 800,000 acres are National Forest System land. This land pattern dates back to early railroad grants and appears as a checkerboard on maps. The Forest is divided into 4 Ranger Districts with offices in Sierraville (Sierraville Ranger District), Truckee (Truckee Ranger District), Foresthill (American River Ranger District), and Camptonville (Yuba River Ranger District). The Forest Headquarters office is located in Nevada City. A District Ranger is responsible for managing each district and supervises district staff. The Forest Supervisor oversees the entire Forest, forest staff, and the Ranger District personnel. Each district has differing terrain, land use patterns, resources and recreation opportunities.