Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Land Management Workforce Flexibility Act Hiring

Forest Service Information Receptionist on a phone call
Career Paths for Temporary, Seasonal Employees

Experienced temporary, seasonal employees have institutional knowledge, critical skills, and a deep passion for the land that the Forest Service values. The Land Management Workforce Flexibility Act provides a path to permanent positions with full health and retirement benefits.


If you are a current or former temporary, seasonal employee with a qualifying federal land management agency, you may be able to apply for permanent positions with the Forest Service using the Land Management Workforce Flexibility Act (LMWFA)

Eligibility Requirements

You must meet the following:

  • Are currently working or have previously worked as a temporary employee in a not-to-exceed appointment with one of the following agencies:
    •  Forest Service
    • Bureau of Land Management
    • National Park Service
    • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
    • Bureau of Indian Affairs,
    • Bureau of Reclamation
  • Have worked for one of the above agencies for more than 24 months total without a break of 2 or more years.
  • Competed for your first position.
  • Received performance ratings that demonstrated an acceptable level of performance throughout the service period.
  • Did not separate  by termination or resignation for misconduct or poor performance.

Required Documents

The documents below are in addition to the required documents listed in the job announcement.

  • Notification of Personnel Actions (SF-50s) showing you have served in appropriate appointments for a periods that total more than 24 months without a break in service of two or more years.  You must include all SF-50s for each period of work. If you were or are an intermittent employee, you can submit F-1150s if the SF-50s do not show intermittent time worked.
  • Performance Ratings or equivalent
    • Performance ratings showing an acceptable level of performance for periods of employment counted towards your eligibility, signed by your supervisor; or
    • If documentation of a rating does not exist for one or more periods, a statement from your supervisor or other individual in the chain of command indicating an acceptable level of performance for the period of employment counted towards your eligibility; or
    • If you do not have a performance appraisal (outlined in 1 or 2 above) for any period, you must provide:
      • A statement with the following:
        • A reason why the appraisal documentation is not available, and
        • That your performance for all periods was at an acceptable level, and
        • Your most recent separation was for reasons other than misconduct or performance, and
        • You were never notified that you were not eligible for rehire based on performance. 

Career Fields

We offer positions that build on your seasonal experience and advance your career with the Forest Service. Positions are available nationwide.

Group of Forest Service Realty Specialists pose for a photo

Visit the following pages to learn more about more specific opportunities within each career field.

Help is Available

Regional Contacts


  • Northern Region (R1): Twelve National Forests spread across North Idaho, Montana, and a sliver of northeastern Washington. The 4 National Grasslands of the Dakota Prairie Grasslands are in North Dakota and northwestern South Dakota. Visit the Northern Region (R1) website or email the R1 Recruiter.
  • Rocky Mountain Region (R2): Region 2 encompasses national forests and grasslands in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, and most of South Dakota and Wyoming. Visit the Rocky Mountain Region (R2) website or email the R2 Recruiter.
  • Southwest Region (R3): Includes six national forests in Arizona, five national forests and a national grassland in New Mexico, and one national grassland each in Oklahoma and the Texas panhandle. Visit the Southwest Region (R3) website or email the R3 Recruiter.
  • Intermountain Region (R4): Includes twelve National Forests which are located in Utah, Nevada, western Wyoming, southern and central Idaho, as well as one National Grassland in Idaho and the Rocky Mountain Research Station in Colorado. Visit the Intermountain Region (R4) website or email the R4 Recruiter.
  • Pacific Southwest Region (R5): Includes lands in California, Hawaii, and the U.S. Affiliated Pacific Islands. Visit the Pacific Southwest Region (R5) website or email the R5 Recruiter.
  • Pacific Northwest Region 6 (R6): Contains 17 National Forests, a National Scenic Area, a National Grassland, and two National Volcanic Monuments, all within the States of Oregon and Washington. Visit the Pacific Northwest Region (R6) website. The R6 Recruiter email is coming soon.
  • Southern Region (R8): Includes forests in Alabama, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Floriday, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Visit the Southern Region (R8) website or email the R8 Recruiter.
  • Eastern Region (R9): Includes 20 states in the northeast and Great Lakes areas. Visit the Eastern Region (R9) website or email the R9 Recruiter.
  • Alaska Region (R10): Visit the Alaska Region (R10) website or email the R10 Recruiter.
  • Law Enforcement (LE): Visit the Law Enforcement (LE) website or email the LE Recruiter.

More Resources

Envelope with Forest Service logo.

To receive information about upcoming hiring events and webinars, please subscribe to our Job Seeker Emails.


  • Visit the How to Apply webpage for tips, tricks, webinars, and more.
  • For questions about career opportunities and applications, call 1-877-372-7248 (select option 2 and follow prompts). We're open Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mountain Time and closed on all Federal holidays.

The USDA is an Equal Opportunity Provider and Employer